Steam Deck Pre-Order – Where to buy?

Here's how to register your interest and pre-order Valve's Steam Deck

Steam Deck pre-order
Valve has announced the Steam Deck, allowing gamers to reserve a pre-order unit via the Steam Store. Images via Valve.

GamingVerdict is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Table of Contents

After much speculation, Valve has finally announced the Steam Deck, Valve’s, entry into the mobile gaming market. The new console is a portable Steam machine built on the Steam Operating System, allowing PC gamers the ability to play their Steam Library on the go. The new console is due to start shipping in December 2021. If you are interested in grabbing yourself Valve’s mobile gaming platform, here are all the Steam Deck pre-order details.

How to pre-order the Steam Deck

Steam Deck Reservation

The Steam Deck’s launch is set for December 2021. Due to the global supply chain issues relating to semiconductors and chipsets, Valve is implementing a reservation system. The reservation system is designed to create a barrier of entry for scalpers and to gauge consumer interest for the Steam Deck.

If you plan to reserve a Steam Deck, you’ll need to do so via your account over on the Steam Store. Head over to the Steam Store Page, and find the Steam Deck, either on the Store’s Featured section, or type in “Steam Deck” into the search function. Alternatively, you can click on this link to get directly on the Steam Store.

To reserve a Steam Deck, click on the “Reserve Now” button under one of three options:  64GB, 256GB, or 512GB version. Steam will then charge you $5 or your country’s equivalent to confirm your reservation. We have a more in-depth Steam Deck specs page if you want more info before reserving one of the three options.

At the time of writing, the Steam reservation buttons are not active. The Steam Deck reservations go live at 10:00 PT on July 16, which converts to 13:00 ET, 18:00 BST, and 19:00 CEST July 16.

Pre-ordering the Steam Deck

According to Valve’s Steam Deck FAQ, you will be able to pre-order a Steam Deck until December 2021. The reservation ticket system in the Steam Store will eventually offer the option to convert the ticket for an actual Steam Deck pre-order. Aside from limiting pre-orders to one per Steam account, Valve are yet to reveal how pre-orders will work out. However, Valve has confirmed that the reservations will work regionally, so you won’t be competing with others globally. For the time being, interested parties outside the European Union, United Kingdom, United States or Canada will not be able to reserve or pre-order a Steam Deck.

Once Gaming Verdict knows more about Steam Deck pre-orders, we will update the article with relevant information.

Stay in touch

Sign up now for all the latest news, builds, and ideas for your PC gaming setup.