Knockout City: Release Date, Price, Crossplay

Here is everything you need to know regarding Knockout City's lauch

Knockout City
Knockout City is a new sports action game, comnining tema play, dodgeball and BR mechanics to create a new experience. Image via Velan Studios.

EsportsVerdict is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Knockout City is a brand new game from EA, developed by Velan Studios. The game itself is a dodgeball game, baking in Battle Royale mechanics to add extra flavour to the title. The game’s aim is to work together with your team and become the dodgeball champions, using powers to achieve victory. Here is what we know about the game for those interested in Knockout City, including release date and time, consoles, crossplay, and price.

Crossplay

Knockout CIty is indeed a crossplay game. What players will find is the game has crossplay by default. Anyone from Nintendo Switch, Xbox, PlayStation, or PC can all play together. Inviting anyone from another platform is at the core of the game, no mater if the queue is for the 3v3 or 4v4 modes, or any other mode launching on May 21.

Even better, the game has built-in cross-progression. Anyone can pick up where why left off, whether that is on their bedroom PC playing the game, downstairs in the living room, or on the go with the Switch. 

Is Knockout City going to be free? Yes, it will be briefly.

However, you can completely ignore paying for the game for the first 10 days. Knockout CIty is launching with an event called Bloc Party, which is a series of events, activities and more every day. The Bloc Party event features dev games, discord parties, season launches, new content, customization tournaments, prizes and more. The best bit is the game is entirely free for the entire period of the event, ending on June 1st. After that, everyone will need to buy the game for full price or acquire it through one of the subscription services to continue playing.

Anyone who does get involved with the Bloc Party free event, you grab yourself some Bloc Party goodies, along with some premium currency.

How much does Knockout City Cost?

Knockout City has several ways to get a hold of the game. The basic way to get the game is a retail copy. As it stands, the Day 1 launch price of the upcoming dodgeball game is $19.99. We could be looking at £17.99 and  €17.99 for the UK and European markets. The only way we will tell is when the game goes live with a store price on the day on each platform. For gamers on other continents9, based on Amazon sale prices. Furthermore, the game has a Deluxe Edition attached to it, which costs $9.99 on top of the game’s normal price.

Although, players do not need to buy the game at full price to get access to Knockout City. The game is part of the EA Play subscription service, and by default, part of the Xbox Game Pass. Even better, the game is available on the Day 1 launch on EA Play, meaning players can essentially play the game for a month for $4.99 instead. Due to the Xbox Game Pass Ultimate addition having pages to EA Play, Xbox Players can play Knockout City as part of that service too.

Knockout City Release Date and Times

Knockout City and the Bloc Party event have a global launch time. The game launches for every country on May 21, with every region’s servers launching simultaneously. As it stands, the game aims to launch at the following times for these timezones.

  • BST: 1 p.m.
  • CEST: 2 p.m.
  • JST: 9 p.m.
  • AEST: 10 p.m.
  • PDT: 5 a.m.
  • CDT: 7 a.m.
  • EDT: 8 a.m.

 

We look forward to seeing everyone on the field on May 21.